Autistic people are writers

I took a suggestion from this page and I’m going to talk to you about something I am – a writer.

I am not a professional writer. I don’t make money by composing my thoughts into the written word. I am one of the 85% of unemployed and underemployed (I fit the latter category). I am overqualified for my actual occupation, but I hope to change that one day.

Autistic people are writers. We are a very diverse group within ourselves. I know several autistic people who are published. Some write about autism, some do not.

You will not find my name in print. That doesn’t make me any less of a writer.

I am a blogger.

I write fanfiction.

I have participated (and won!) NaNoWrimo two years in a row.

I have things to say.

Writing isn’t always easy for me. People of all neurotypes talk about writer’s block, and I experience that a lot. I also experience a lot of frustration when I am not having difficulty knowing where to go with something I’m writing, but getting the words from my head to the paper, because sometimes? I literally forget what word I’m trying to use. Or I will use a word that sounds similar to the one I’m aiming for, but is different.

But in the end, the effort is worth it. Completing a story, a poem, a blog post that means something to people is worth the frustration. It really is.

I am the author of my own story, and mine alone. My perspective matters.

Autistic people are writers, and I’m proud to be one of them.

9 thoughts on “Autistic people are writers

  1. I am also a writer and an Aspie; I have struggled with the idea that if I can’t really understand NT emotions and motivations, how am I supposed to flesh out a character and their growth, heaven forbid a whole mesh of inter-personal relations and challenges in a story? Sure, I can outline a great plot with clues and suspense, but when it comes to depicting emotion, it all becomes very mechanical. Have you faced this? How have you learned to be more emotive in your writing?

    Like

    1. I have faced some of these issues, basically not knowing how a character would react in a certain scenario. I am personally fairly emotional, so it isn’t difficult to write emotion for me, but it is difficult to portray the correct one for the circumstances. I find that I have to write many scenes like this two or three times, in different ways before I figure out what fits.

      Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  2. Have you ever had trouble with researching?
    Like, I’m writing a book about mythologies taking back the modern world, and it’s getting insanely research intensive, and keeping on it isn’t exactly easy…any ideas?

    Like

  3. Hey I also write fanfiction! Are you on AO3 by any chance? Writing with emotion isn’t a huge problem (well if it involves angst) but I always write my stories like an objective third party looking into another person’s life…does that happen to you when you write?

    Like

  4. I’m a writer too! And I’m a blogger! Like you, I don’t get paid for it. That may or may not change. Writing is fun. Creating stories is fun, but also frustrating. But I’m always getting writer’s block.

    Like

Leave a Reply

